blurred blue-tone image of the sea with nearby coastline and mountains

Leading Practices, Resources, and Information around Community Science

Community Science Exchange is a new platform, led by a coalition of societies and partners, aimed at developing and promulgating leading practices, resources, and information around community science.

Community Science (noun):
\ kəˈmyo͞onədē ˈsī-ən(t)s \
The equitable collaboration of science with communities aimed at outcomes for the benefit of communities. Work can be collaboratively or community-led.

 

Interested in Contributing?

As a first step, we recommend sending a presubmission inquiry to communitysci@agu.org.

Submissions to the Community Science Exchange, including project descriptions, resources, community comments, or news items are welcome.

To submit research articles and commentaries to the peer-reviewed journal Community Science, please visit the Journal Submissions page.

 

Map of the world on a Dymaxion projection, with 15° graticule. Justin Kunimune, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons
credit: Justin Kunimune, CC BY-SA 4.0 <https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0>, via Wikimedia Commons

CSE Editorial Board

 

Lead Editor

Kevin Noone
Deputy Editor for the Knowledge Exchange
Professor, Department of Environmental Science, Stockholm University

American Geophysical Union
kevin.noone@aces.su.se
https://www.aces.su.se/staff/kevin-noone/

Deputy Editors

Paula R. Buchanan
Deputy Editor for the Journal
Instructor, Disaster Resilience Leadership Academy (DRLA), Tulane University

American Geophysical Union
paula_buchanan@tulanealumni.net

Jean J. Schensul
Deputy Editor for the Knowledge Exchange
Director and Senior Scientist, Institute for Community Research

American Anthropological Association
Jean.Schensul@icrweb.org
www.incommunityresearch.org

Editors

Claire Francis Beveridge
Postdoctoral Associate, Tropical Rivers Lab
Florida International University
American Geophysical Union
claire.f.beveridge@gmail.com
https://www.clairefrancisbeveridge.com
/

Shobhana Gupta
Open Innovation and Community Applications Manager,
NASA, Applied Sciences
American Public Health Association
shobhana.gupta@nasa.gov
https://appliedsciences.nasa.gov/about/our-team/shobhana-gupta

Muki Haklay
Professor, University College London
Citizen Science Association
m.haklay@ucl.ac.uk
https://www.geog.ucl.ac.uk/people/academic-staff/muki-haklay

Heidi Roop
Professor, University of Minnesota
hroop@umn.edu
https://swac.umn.edu/people/heidi-roop

Julia Parrish
Professor and Associate Dean, University of Washington
Community Science Association
jparrish@uw.edu

Kate Semmens
Science Director, Nature Nurture Center
ksemmens@nurturenature.org
https://www.linkedin.com/in/kathryn-semmens-a135ba143/

Roopam Shukla
Postdoctoral Researcher, Potsdam Institue for Climate Impact Research
American Meteorological Society
shukla@pik-potsdam.de
https://www.pik-potsdam.de/members/shukla

Atlanta Smog

Case Study: Atlanta

Atlanta's combination of air pollution and atmospheric chemicals makes it the most toxic city in the country. Increasingly, the city is joining the ranks of many cities attempting to address climate change at the local level.

View Project

Rhythms of the land

RHYTHMS of the LAND: Indigenous Knowledge, Science, and Thriving Together in a Changing Climate

Why is Collaborative Research Important? This is a narrative of collaboratively generated insights for the diverse communities where we undertook research.

View Resource

Climate Toolkit

U.S. Climate Resilience Toolkit

Meet the Challenges of a Changing Climate Learn about potential climate hazards so you can protect vulnerable assets.

View Resource